Who has Won the Most AFC Champions League Titles?

The AFC Champions League, which began in 1967, is a seasonal association football competition. It is the Asian counterpart to the UEFA Champions League. It is the highest level of men’s football in the Asian Football Confederation. South Korea’s Pohang Steelers and Al Hilal club of Saudi Arabia has won the most AFC Champions League titles till date.

The Champions and the clubs in 2nd and 3rd positions get direct qualification into the AFC Champions League. Apart from that, the Cup winners from the AFC members association qualify for the competition.

The competition was named the Asian Club Championship prior to the 2002-03 season. Initially, only the champions of their respective national leagues and the competition’s defending champion were allowed to compete. However, in 2002, the rules were altered to allow national cup winners to compete as well.

Who has Won the Most AFC Champions League Titles?

The Saudi club Al Hilal is one of the most successful clubs in AFC history. They have won a record 7 AFC trophies. Al Hilal have lifted the Champions League 3 times in 1991,2000, and 2009, which is the most by any club.

READ: AFC Champions League Winners List

The club has also won the Asian Cup Winners Cup and the Asian Super Cup on 2 occasions each. The IFFHS named Al Hilal the Best Asian Club of the 20th Century in September 2009. 

South Korea’s Pohang Steelers is the joint-most successful club in Asia with 3 AFC Champions League titles. They won the competition in 1997,1998 and 2009.

The club has also finished as runners-up in the Asian Super Cup on 2 occasions in 1997 and 1998.

List of All the AFC Champions League Winners

SeasonClubRunner Up


Ulsan Hyundai

Do-hoon Kim


Al-Hilal Riyadh

Razvan Lucescu


Kashima Antlers

Go Oiwa


Urawa Red Diamonds

Takafumi Hori


Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors

Kang-hee Choi


Guangzhou Evergrande Taobao

Luiz Felipe Scolari


Western Sydney Wanderers

Anthony Popovic


Guangzhou Evergrande

Marcello Lippi


Ulsan Hyundai

Ho-gon Kim


Al-Sadd SC

Jorge Fossati


Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma

Tae-yong Shin


Pohang Steelers

Sérgio Farias


Gamba Osaka

Akira Nishino


Urawa Red Diamonds

Holger Osieck


Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors

Kang-hee Choi


Al-Ittihad Jeddah

Anghel Iordanescu


Al-Ittihad Jeddah

Dragan Talajic


Al-Ain FC

Bruno Metsu