Tour de France Winners List: Who has Won the Most Titles?

French cyclists are the most successful at the Tour de France, followed by Belgian cyclists who emerge as the Tour de France winners 18 times.

Tour de France is the annual men’s multi-stage bicycle tournament held in France. 2024 Tour de France is currently in action from 26 June to 18 July 2024. Tour de France 2024 is the 108th edition of the competition. A total of 23 teams are contesting for the 2024 Tour de France title, and only one cyclist will be the winner. On that note, let’s look at the list of all the winners of the Tour de France.

Who is the most successful cyclist at the Tour de France?

Jaucques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain have won the Tour de France ‘5 times’ each and are the most successful cyclists.

Chris Froome is the second most successful rider with 4 titles to his name. Lance Armstrong had won 7 back to back Tour de France Titles from 1999 to 2005, but he was stripped of all his results and prizes because of doping charges.

Tadej Pogacar is the defending champion after winning Tour de France 2024. READ: Tour de France Prize Money Breakdown.

Tour de France Winners List

YearTour #WinnerCountryTeam
2020107Tadej PogačarSloveniaUAE Team Emirates
2019106Egan BernalColombiaTeam Ineos (previously known as Sky)
2018105Geraint ThomasUnited Kingdom (Wales)Team Sky
2017104Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2016103Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2015102Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2014101Vincenzo NibaliItalyAstana Pro Team
2013100Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
201299Bradley WigginsUnited KingdomTeam Sky
201198Cadel EvansAustraliaBMC Racing Team
201097Andy Schleck *LuxembourgTeam Saxo Bank
200996Alberto ContadorSpainAstana
200895Carlos SastreSpainTeam CSC Saxo Bank
200794Alberto ContadorSpainDiscovery Channel
200693Óscar Pereiro *SpainCaisse d’Epargne
200592*No Winner  
200491No Winner  
200390No Winner  
200289No Winner  
200188No Winner  
200087No Winner  
199986No Winner  
199885Marco PantaniItalyMercatone Uno
199784Jan UllrichGermanyTelekom
199683Bjarne Riis *DenmarkTelekom
199582Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199481Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199380Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199279Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199178Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199077Greg LeMondUnited StatesZ
198976Greg LeMondUnited StatesADR
198875Pedro DelgadoSpainReynolds
198774Stephen RocheIrelandCarrera
198673Greg LeMondUnited StatesLa Vie Claire
198572Bernard HinaultFranceLa Vie Claire
198471Laurent FignonFranceRenault
198370Laurent FignonFranceRenault
198269Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
198168Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
198067Joop ZoetemelkNetherlandsTI Raleigh
197966Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
197865Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
197764Bernard ThévenetFrancePeugeot
197663Lucien Van ImpeBelgiumGitane
197562Bernard ThévenetFrancePeugeot
197461Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197360Luis OcañaSpainBic
197259Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197158Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197057Eddy MerckxBelgiumFaemino
196956Eddy MerckxBelgiumFaema
196855Jan JanssenNetherlandsHolland
196754Roger PingeonFranceFrance
196653Lucien AimarFranceFord
196552Felice GimondiItalySalvarini
196451Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196350Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196249Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196148Jacques AnquetilFranceFrance
196047Gastone NenciniItalyItaly
195946Federico BahamontesSpainSpain
195845Charly GaulLuxembourgHolland-Luxembourg
195744Jacques AnquetilFranceFrance
195643Roger WalkowiakFranceNord-Est-Centre
195542Louison BobetFranceFrance
195441Louison BobetFranceFrance
195340Louison BobetFranceFrance
195239Fausto CoppiItalyItaly
195138Hugo KobletSwitzerlandSwitzerland
195037Ferdinand KublerSwitzerlandSwitzerland
194936Fausto CoppiItalyItaly
194835Gino BartaliItalyItaly
194734Jean RobicFranceOuest
1940-46not held   
193933Sylvère MaesBelgiumBelgium
193832Gino BartaliItalyItaly
193731Roger LapébieFranceFrance
193630Sylvère MaesBelgiumBelgium
193529Romain MaesBelgiumBelgium
193428Antonin MagneFranceFrance
193327Georges SpeicherFranceFrance
193226André LeducqFranceFrance
193125Antonin MagneFranceFrance
193024André LeducqFranceFrance
192923Maurice De WaeleBelgiumAlcyon
192822Nicolas FrantzLuxembourgAlcyon
192721Nicolas FrantzLuxembourgAlcyon
192620Lucien BuysseBelgiumAutomoto
192519Ottavio BottecchiaItalyAutomoto
192418Ottavio BottecchiaItalyAutomoto
192317Henri PélissierFranceAutomoto
192216Firmin LambotBelgiumCycles Peugeot
192115Léon ScieurBelgiumLa Sportive
192014Philippe ThysBelgiumLa Sportive
191913Firmin LambotBelgiumLa Sportive
1915-18not held   
191412Philippe ThysBelgiumCycles Peugeot
191311Philippe ThysBelgiumCycles Peugeot
191210Odile DefrayeBelgiumAlycon
19119Gustave GarrigouFranceAlycon
19108Octave LapizeFranceAlycon
19097François FaberLuxembourgAlycon
19086Lucien Petit-BretonFranceCycles Peugeot
19075Lucien Petit-BretonFranceCycles Peugeot
19064René PottierFranceCycles Peugeot
19053Louis TrousselierFranceCycles Peugeot
19042Henri Cornet *FranceCycles JC
19031Maurice GarinFranceLa Française

Players with the most Tour de France titles

 Jacques Anquetil (FRA)51957, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964
 Eddy Merckx (BEL)51969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1974
 Bernard Hinault (FRA)51978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985
 Miguel Indurain (ESP)51991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995
 Chris Froome (GBR)42013, 2015, 2016, 2017
 Philippe Thys (BEL)31913, 1914, 1920
 Louison Bobet (FRA)31953, 1954, 1955
 Greg LeMond (USA)31986, 1989, 1990
 Lucien Petit-Breton (FRA)21907, 1908
 Firmin Lambot (BEL)21919, 1922
 Ottavio Bottecchia (ITA)21924, 1925
 Nicolas Frantz (LUX)21927, 1928
 André Leducq (FRA)21930, 1932
 Antonin Magne (FRA)21931, 1934
 Sylvère Maes (BEL)21936, 1939
 Gino Bartali (ITA)21938, 1948
 Fausto Coppi (ITA)21949, 1952
 Bernard Thévenet (FRA)21975, 1977
 Laurent Fignon (FRA)21983, 1984
 Alberto Contador (ESP)[D]22007, 2009