TNPL Winners and Runners List of All Seasons (TNPL Past Champions)

The fourth season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL 2019) is scheduled to start on July 19 and will conclude on August 18. The popular South Indian state domestic Twenty20 league to feature eight teams who will battle it out to win the title. Here are the TNPL Winners and Runners List of All Seasons since its inception in 2016.

The Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) was started by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association in 2016. The 4th season is taking place this year. This professional T20 cricket league is held in Tamil Nadu, India. The matches are played in 3 stadiums – NPR College Ground, Dindigul; Indian Cement Company Ground, Tirunelveli and M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

TNPL Winners 2019

There 8 teams which take part in this event every year. They are :

  • Dindigul Dragons
  • Chepauk Super Gillies
  • TUTI Patriots
  • Madurai Panthers
  • Karaikudi Kaalai
  • Ruby Trichy Warriors
  • Lyca Kovai Kings
  • VB Kanchi Veerans

TNPL Winners and Runners List of All Seasons

2016 TUTI Patriots Chepauk Super Gillies
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies TUTI Patriots
2018 Madurai Panthers Dindigul Dragons

In 2016, TUTI Patriots won the final match by defeating Chepauk Super Gillies by 122 runs and became the first team to lift the tropy. Narayan Jagadeeshan of Dindigul Dragons was awarded Player of the Series. He was the leading run scorer of the inaugural edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League. Anthony Dhas of Chepauk Super Gillies was highest wicket taker of the season.

Chepauk Super Gillies defeated TUTI Patriots in the final match of the 2nd season to emerged as TNPL Winners. They won by 6 wickets. Washington Sunder of TUTI Patriots was awarded Player of the Series. TUTI Patriots had not lost a single match until the final in this particular season. The highest run scorer of the tournament was Washington Sunder while the leading wicket-taker was Ravi Srinivasan Sai Kishore of Chepauk Super Gillies.

The 2018 edition saw Madurai Panthers win their maiden title. They won the final match against Dindigul Dragons by 7 wickets to enter the TNPL Winners club. In the previous 2 seasons, Madurai Panthers had not won even a single match. Arun Karthik of Madurai Panthers was awarded Man of the Series. He had scored 75 runs in the final match, while 3 batsmen went for a duck each. Arun was also the leading run scorer of the tournament. Abhishek Tanwar of Madurai Panthers was the highest wicket-taker.

All the final matches of the previous 3 seasons were held at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.