TNPL 2024 Players Salaries and Contracts – Tamil Nadu Premier League

Tamil Nadu Premier League is a regional professional cricket league of India. TNPL conducts domestic Twenty20 matches in the state of Tamil Nadu. The 2024 TNPL is the fifth tournament edition and is in action from 19 July to 15 August 2024. The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association confirmed that the TNPL 2024 players salaries are based on their contract signed after the draft.

The league was established in 2016 and had been functioning since then. Since its inception, the Tamil Nadu Premier League has featured some of the greatest Indian cricketers who hail from the state. On 16 August 2016, the first edition was inaugurated by the former captain of India and present Chennai Super Kings captain, MS Dhoni, in Chennai.

The inaugural season of TNPL featured popular players like Ravichandran Ashwin, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik and Lakshmipathy Balaji. It also featured players registered with the state association. Robin Singh and Michael Bevan were the marquee coaches. Matthew Hayden was the brand ambassador of the league.

BCCI prevented the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association from allowing outstation players to participate in the league till 2024. A maximum of 2 outstation players can be in a team, given that any IPL team does not currently sign them. A separate draft for outstation players is scheduled to happen after the 2024 IPL season for TNPL season 5.

TNPL 2024 Players Salaries

The TNPL players draft takes place months before the tournament begins. Participating teams have to acquire a minimum of 16 and a maximum of 22 players for a season.

They are allowed to retain three players each from last season. Tamil Nadu, Premier League players, are divided into four categories. The categories are set up based on the experience of the player.

A₹6 lakh
B1-B2₹2−3 lakh
C₹50,000−1 lakh

Tamil Nadu Premier League Players’ Salary and Contract

Category A includes players who have represented Indian Cricket Team at the international level. B1 category includes players who play in First class tournaments of India.

B2 category players are the ones who have not played any first-class cricket but have played at least 20 TNPL matches in the last two seasons.