The Sweet Escape

IPL Winners and Runner ups List

IPL Winners List 2024: Here are the Winners and Runner Ups of Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season is all set conclude with the final match in Dubai. The last season was won by Mumbai Indians defeating CSK in the last over to emerge as the IPL winners for the fourth time. Check out the history of the biggest domestic cricket league in the world, IPL since 2008.

Since its inception, total thirteen teams have played in the Indian Premier League and out of those only six teams have won the title.

Indian Premier League or popularly known as IPL is a professional T20 cricket league in India. It is the biggest and most popular T20 cricket league in the world and was founded by the BBCCI in 2007. IPL is the most-attended cricket league and ranks sixth among all sports leagues in the world. As per Duff & Phelps, the estimated brand value of IPL was $4.16 billion in 2016. Let’s have a look at IPL winners list from 2008 to 2024 with the result, year and runner-ups teams. 

IPL Winners and Runners List

IPL Winners and Runners List

2008Rajasthan RoyalsRoyals won by 3 wicketsChennai Super Kings
2009Deccan ChargersChargers won by 6 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Chennai Super KingsSuper Kings won by 22 runsMumbai Indians
2011Chennai Super KingsSuper Kings won by 58 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2012Kolkata Knight RidersKnight Riders won by 5 wicketsChennai Super Kings
2013Mumbai IndiansIndians won by 23 runsChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKnight Riders won by 3 wicketsKings XI Punjab
2015Mumbai IndiansIndians won by 41 runsChennai Super Kings
2016Sunrisers HyderabadSRH won by 8 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2017Mumbai IndiansMI Won by 1 run Rising Pune Supergiant
2018Chennai Super KingsCSK wonSunrisers Hyderabad
2019Chennai Super KingsMI Won by 1 RunMumbai Indians

Indian Premier League Current Teams

Here are all the eight teams who will fight to become IPL 2018 winners.

 Delhi DaredevilsDelhiDelhi2008
 Kings XI PunjabMohaliPunjab2008
 Kolkata Knight RidersKolkataWest Bengal2008
 Mumbai IndiansMumbaiMaharashtra2008
 Royal Challengers BangaloreBangaloreKarnataka2008
 Sunrisers HyderabadHyderabadTelangana2013
 Chennai Super KingsChennaiChennai2008
 Rajasthan RoyalsJaipurRajasthan2008

Total eight teams play each year to become IPL champions and but only one team able to lift the shining trophy. Every team play against each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format in the group stage of the competition.

Indian Premier League IPL total prize money is around $8 million and IPL winner got Rs 15 crore prize money and trophy. So far a total of six teams has emerged as IPL winners.

Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the history of the IPL who won it four times while Chennai Super Kings got 3 times and Kolkata Knight Riders have become the IPL winners twice. Rajasthan Royals, Sunrises Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers have won once so far. Mumbai Indians are the current IPL champions having won the 2017 season against RPS.