IPL New Teams: IPL player salary to hike as franchises’ purse to increase

IPL New Teams: IPL 2024 players are likely to get even wealthy, such as Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and MS Dhoni, as the BCCI, India’s Cricket Control Board (BCCI) will raise the wage ceiling Rs 85 crore to Rs 100 Crore within 3 years.

With two new IPL 2024 franchises in the pipeline, IPL will launch, BCCI aims at retaining players earning more. The existing Rs 15 crore highest wage limit for a retained player is changed according to the anticipated revisions.

This indicates that people who are anticipated to be retained, like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, are expected to check the higher salaries of IPL 2024 by increasing their Rs 5 Crore pay ceiling.

IPL New Teams and Formats

By introducing two additional clubs from IPL 2024, the Indian Premier League (IPL) will modify its format. But the Cricket Control Board in India (BCCI) has failed to prepare for a new 94 match window despite the growing number of matches.

The IPL window will instead be extended into 60 days in a 74-match schedule. The IPL will thus return to the same format as it did in the 2011 season when two new clubs were established.

This means the 10 teams are now divided into two groups of 5 teams, instead of the present arrangement for all teams that play with each other twice.

READ: IPL 2024 New Schedule, Updated Dates, Teams Venue, Live Streaming And Squad

Existing Regulation Of IPL

As per existing regulations imposed by BCCI, franchises must remove Rs 15 crore, Rs 11 crore, and Rs 7 crore from the salary purse for three players heading into a major auction.

If four players are retained, the structure increases to Rs 12.5 cr, Rs 8.5 cr when two players are kept, and Rs 12.5 cr for one retained player. But with the increase in wage purse, it is expected to expand as well ahead of the major auction for 10 IPL clubs in 2024, as per a Times Of India report.

Other Information

Virat Kohli has one of the highest wages of Rs 17 crore. Chris Morris joins him at a salary of Rs 16.5 crore and Pat Cummins at Rs 15.5 crore.

Other players like Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Kyle Jamieson, and Rishabh Pant get 15 crores a season. If they are all are retained by their respective franchise, their wages will rise significantly. READ: IPL Players Salary

IPL Players Salary from 2008 to 2024

MS DhoniRs 6 croreRs 15 crore
Virat KohliRs 12 lakhRs 17 crore
Rohit SharmaRs 3 croreRs 15 crore
Suresh RainaRs 2.6 croreRs 11 crore