International Cricket Commentator’s Salary 2024

International commentators’ salary is dependent on the number of hours and days they work. These cricket commentators are paid well for their outstanding efforts to entertain the viewers. They are paid on a per-match basis or per-series basis and have a substantial annual salary.

Commentary over the years has become a massive tool for connecting sports to television and radio viewers. Some commentators have made a name among fans like Harsha Bhogle also called ” the voice of cricket,” does beautiful commentary.

Other well-known commentators like Ravi Shastri, Sunil Gavaskar, Peter Drury, Ian Chapell, Sanjay Manjrekar, Martin Tyler, Michael Vaughan, Michael Slater, Danny Morrison, Ian Bishop, and many more who have won the hearts of sports fans with their depictions.

Indian Commentators are paid the highest salary among all the international commentators because of India’s wealthy cricket board BCCI. They receive around $2,500 per game with an annual salary of $500,000 to $1 million.

So far, about $50,000 has been paid for a full season. Due to the shortage of live matches and the consequent drop in the number of working hours, cricket commentators are being paid on a pro-rated basis.

Cricket Commentators Salary 2024

NameBroadcasterPanelFee Per match Fee Per seriesAnnual Salary
Harsha BhogleESPN Star Sports & ABCEnglish and Hindi$2,500$55,000$1 million
Sunil GavaskarESPN Star SportsEnglish and Hindi$2,500$55,000$1 million
Sourav GangulyESPN Star SportsEnglish and Hindi$2,500$50,000$1 million
Sanjay ManjrekarESPN Star SportsEnglish and Hindi$2,500$50,810$1 million
Shane WarneSky Sports, ESPN Star SportsEnglish$2,000$58,000$1 million
Ian BishopSky SportsEnglish$2,000$52,000$900,000
Mark NicholaSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
Geoffrey BoycottSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
Michael VaughanSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
Ian BothamSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
Mike AthertonSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
Alan WilkinsSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
David LloydSky SportsEnglish$4000$50,000$850,000
Ian ChappellESPN Star SportsEnglish$2,500$40,000$700,000
Mike HaysmanTEN SportsEnglish$1,000$45,000$700,000
Russel ArnoldTEN SportsEnglish$1,500$45,000$700,000
Waqar YounisTEN SportsEnglish and Hindi$1,500$45,000$700,000
Rameez RajaTEN SportsEnglish$2,200$45,000$700,000
Waseem AkramESPN Star SportsEnglish and  Hindi$1,500$35,000$600,000
Mark RichardsonSky Sport English$1,500$30,000$560,000
Pommie MbangwaTEN SportsEnglish$1,000$40,000$500,000
Shaun PollockSuperSportEnglish$1,500$30,000$400,000
Athar Ali KhanIndependent TelevisionEnglish$1,000$15,000$350,000
Kevin PietersenStar Sports , Sky SportEnglish$3000$50,000$500,000
Anjum ChopraStar SportsEnglish    $2000$35,000$250,000
Lisa SthalekarTen SportsEnglish    $2000$35,000$250,000
Murali KartikStar SportsEnglish$2500$50,000$1 million

Commentators and commentaries are a vital part of a cricket match, imagine watching an action-packed movie without any sound effects and dialogues. Hold that thought, that’s what cricket is without commentary.

READ ALSO: IPL Commentators Salaries

READ ALSO: PSL Commentators Salaries

The commentators, however, explain the match ball by ball. The amount of money invested in commentators across all professional sports indicates that millions of people watching the sport on television worldwide find their viewing experience improved.

Disclaimer: The above facts and figures about the cricket commentators Salary are based on the analysis, research and reports released by the ICC (International Cricket Council) and BCCI (Board of control for cricket in India).