ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule Revealed: Set to be played from October 17 in UAE, India vs Pakistan Match

T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 schedule is out, the tournament will begin on October 17 and final on November 14 in UAE. WC will feature India, Pakistan & New Zealand in same group.

After a long wait, the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 schedule is confirmed, the competition will start from October 17 in the UAE, while the final is to be played on November 14. The fans will once again witness the biggest match of cricket in the ICC T20 World Cup as India and Pakistan have been placed in the same group apart of New Zealand.

The T20 World Cup was originally scheduled to occur last year, but it was postponed due to COVID-19. The first round of the event will feature 12 matches between the eight teams.

Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Namibia, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland will fight in the first round of T20 World Cup 2024 to play with the top eight ranked T20 teams. Out of four, only four teams will qualify for the Super 12s.

2024 ICC T20 World Cup Schedule

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

Tournament DateTeamsRoundGroup
17 October 2024Sri Lanka vs IrelandFirst RoundA
18 October 2024Papua New Guinea vs OmanFirst RoundA
19 October 2024Bangladesh vs NamibiaFirst RoundB
19 October 2024Netherlands vs ScotlandFirst RoundB
20 October 2024Ireland vs OmanFirst RoundA
20 October 2024Sri Lanka vs Papua New GuineaFirst RoundA
21 October 2024Namibia vs ScotlandFirst RoundB
21 October 2024Bangladesh vs NetherlandsFirst Round B
22 October 2024Papua New Guinea vs IrelandFirst Round A
22 October 2024Sri Lanka vs OmanFirst Round A
23 October 2024Netherlands vs NamibiaFirst RoundB
23 October 2024Bangladesh vs Scotland First Round B
24 October 2024Australia vs PakistanSuper 121
24 October 2024India vs South AfricaSuper 122
25 October 2024TBC vs TBCSuper 121
25 October 2024New Zealand vs West IndiesSuper 121
26 October 2024Afghanistan vs TBCSuper 122
26 October 2024England vs TBCSuper 122
27 October 2024New Zealand vs TBCSuper 121
28 October 2024Afghanistan vs TBCSuper 122
28 October 2024Australia vs West IndiesSuper 121
29 October 2024Pakistan vs TBCSuper 121
29 October 2024India vs TBCSuper 122
30 October 2024England vs South AfricaSuper 122
30 October 2024West Indies vs TBCSuper 121
31 October 2024New Zealand vs PakistanSuper 121
31 October 2024Australia vs TBCSuper 12 1
1 November 2024Afghanistan vs South AfricaSuper 12 2
1 November 2024India vs EnglandSuper 12 2
2 November 2024TBC vs TBCSuper 12 2
2 November 2024New Zealand vs TBCSuper 12 1
3 November 2024Pakistan vs West IndiesSuper 12 1
4 November 2024Australia vs TBCSuper 12 1
4 November 2024Afghanistan vs EnglandSuper 12 2
5 November 2024South Africa vs TBCSuper 12 2
5 November 2024India vs TBCSuper 12 2
6 November 2024Pakistan vs TBCSuper 12 1
6 November 2024Australia vs New ZealandSuper 12 1
7 November 2024England vs TBCSuper 12 2
7 November 2024West Indies vs TBSuper 12 1
8 November 2024South Africa vs TBCSuper 12 2
8 November 2024India vs AfghanistanSuper 12 2

The cricket fever is all set to resume with the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 in the UAE. The dates and venues of the tournament are finalized, and the T20 World Cup schedule and full match fixtures are to be announced soon. All the matches will be played at three venues in the UAE – Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.

  • T20 World Cup 2024 Start Date: 17 October 2024
  • T20 World Cup 2024 End Date: 14 November 2024

The Super 12 round of the T20 World Cup 2024 will feature 30 matches from October 24. All the twelve teams will be divided into two groups of six teams each.

The two teams from each group will reach the semi-finals, and the winners of the semis will play the final match of the T20 World Cup 2024 on November 14.

T20 WC 2024 Groups

Round 1 (Qualifying stage):

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s (Group round):

Group 1: Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2

Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Teams

The 2024 T20 World Cup features a total of 16 teams who are taking part in the action-packed tournament. The competition will include the top 8 full members and regular Test-playing nations

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Australia
  3. England
  4. India
  5. New Zealand
  6. Pakistan
  7. South Africa
  8. West Indies

Apart from these nations, the 7th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup will also feature the debut of Papua New Guinea and the other seven teams for the first round of play.

  1. Bangladesh
  2. Sri Lanka
  3. Ireland
  4. Netherlands
  5. Scotland
  6. Namibia
  7. Oman
  8. Papua New Guinea

The top 8 teams, including the hosts, will qualify to the Super 12s round, while the rest eight teams will be divided into two groups, and the top 2 of each group will join the Super 12s.

ALSO READ: ICC Cricket Umpires Salaries

India also hosted the previous edition of the ICC T20 World Cup back in 2016. West Indies have crowned champions in the final at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, after defeating England by four wickets.

West Indies became the first team to win the tournament twice, as they had also won in 2012, beating hosts Sri Lanka in the final.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is struggling to finalise the T20 World Cup 2024 timetable, which is expected to be scheduled in October-November. The host is dealing with the second wave of Covid-19, and if the situation did not improve then, BCCI would have to host the T20 World Cup outside the country.

According to reports, the International Cricket Council (ICC) will decide on the T20 world cup in July 2024. On the other side, BCCI is confident that this situation will improve soon, and the World Cup would take place in India as per the schedule.

The 7th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was previously scheduled in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2024; it was postponed due to the Covid19 pandemic. ICC announced that Australia would host the 8th edition of the tournament in 2024.   

Winners of T20 World Cup

2007South AfricaJohannesburgIndiaPakistan
2009EnglandLondonPakistanSri Lanka
2010West IndiesBridgetownEnglandAustralia
2012Sri LankaColomboWest IndiesSri Lanka
2014BangladeshDhakaSri LankaIndia
2016IndiaKolkataWest IndiesEngland

What to Expect in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024?

Hosts India will be sure to shot favourites in the tournament as they currently rank 3rd on the current ICC T20 rankings. Current World No.1 on the ICC T20 Rankings are Australia. They have a reliable team and are definite contenders for the trophy next year.

The 2019 ICC World Cup winners are ranked 2nd on the T20 Rankings and looking to bag their second ICC trophy. Though the West Indies is currently ranked 10th globally, the defending Champions indeed have the experience and know-how to win ICC T20 World Cups and have a very experienced side lead by Keiron Pollard.

Note:- ICC officially announces the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup schedule, but the schedule is subject to change.