Australian Open Winners List

The Australian Open is a season-opening major tennis tournament held each year in January at Melbourne Park, Australia. Australian Open has emerged to be one of the largest sporting events in the Southern Hemisphere, and it is the first Grand Slam of the year. In the article, we’ll see the list of Australian open winners fro men’s and women’s singles.

The Australian Open is the most attended Grand Slam event, with more than 812,000 visitors coming in the 2024 tournament. The 2024 season is set to be played from 8 to 21 February 2024.

The men’s tournament was initially founded in 1905 as Australasian tennis Championship and women’s in 1922 but changed to Australian Open after the Open era in 1969.

The Australian Open was the foremost Grand Slam tournament to introduce indoor play during rainy weather or extreme heat, with its three main courts, the Rod Laver Arena, the Melbourne Arena and the refurbished Margaret Court Arena fitted with retractable roofs.

Australian Open Winners List

YEARMen’s SinglesWomen’s Singles
1969Rod LaverMargaret Court
1970Arthur AsheMargaret Court
1971Ken RosewallMargaret Court
1972Ken RosewallVirginia Wade
1973John NewcombeMargaret Court
1974Jimmy ConnorsEvonne Goolagong
1975John NewcombeEvonne Goolagong
1976Mark EdmondsonEvonne Goolagong
1977 (Jan)Roscoe TannerKerry Melville Reid
1977 (Dec)Vitas GerulaitisEvonne Goolagong
1978Guillermo VilasChris O’Neil
1979Guillermo VilasBarbara Jordan
1980Brian TeacherHana Mandlíková
1981Johan KriekMartina Navratilova
1982Johan KriekChris Evert
1983Mats WilanderMartina Navratilova
1984Mats WilanderChris Evert
1985Stefan EdbergMartina Navratilova
1986No contestNo contest
1987Stefan EdbergHana Mandlíková
1988Mats WilanderSteffi Graf
1989Ivan LendlSteffi Graf
1990Ivan LendlSteffi Graf
1991Boris BeckerMonica Seles
1992Jim CourierMonica Seles
1993Jim CourierMonica Seles
1994Pete SamprasSteffi Graf
1995Andre AgassiMary Pierce
1996Boris BeckerMonica Seles
1997Pete SamprasMartina Hingis
1998Petr KordaMartina Hingis
1999Yevgeny KafelnikovMartina Hingis
2000Andre AgassiLindsay Davenport
2001Andre AgassiJennifer Capriati
2002Thomas JohanssonJennifer Capriati
2003Andre AgassiSerena Williams
2004Roger FedererJustine Henin
2005Marat SafinSerena Williams
2006Roger FedererAmélie Mauresmo
2007Roger FedererSerena Williams
2008Novak DjokovicMaria Sharapova
2009Rafael NadalSerena Williams
2010Roger FedererSerena Williams
2011Novak DjokovicKim Clijsters
2012Novak DjokovicVictoria Azarenka
2013Novak DjokovicVictoria Azarenka
2014Stan WawrinkaLi Na
2015Novak DjokovicSerena Williams
2016Novak DjokovicAngelique Kerber
2017Roger FedererSerena Williams
2018Roger FedererCaroline Wozniacki
2019Novak DjokovicNaomi Osaka
2020Novak DjokovicSofia Kenin

The 2024 Australian Open is most likely to start on February 1 and expected to be shorter. The Australian Open tickets for 2024 edition will go sale from December 2024.

Who has won the most Australian Opens?

Novak Djokovic has won the most men singles, a record of 8 Australian Opens followed by the legend himself Roger Federer who won it 6 times.

At the same time, Most Australian Open Women’s singles have been won by Margaret Court 11 times. Most Men’s Doubles titles won 10 times by Adrian Quest and Women’s Doubles titles 12 times by Thelma Coyne Long.

Who won the 2024 Australian Open?

The 2024 men’s singles Australian open winner was Novak Djokovic and Sofia Kenin was the women’s singles winner.

Who won the first Australian Open singles?

Rodney Heath won the first Australasian Championship in 1905, and Rod Laver won the first open era Australian Open in 1969. In comparison, the first Australian Open Women’s single in the Open era was won by Margaret Court.