Daytona 500 Purse Payouts 2024: How much prize money will winners get?

The Daytona 500 is an annual NASCAR Cup Series motor race held at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. It is 500 miles (805 kilometres) long. It is the first of two Cup races staged at Daytona each year. NASCAR is yet to announce the Daytona 500 purse payouts, making it difficult to calucluate drivers’ payouts.

The event has been run in mid-to-late February since its start in 1959. Apart from being the most prestigious race on the calendar, the race also has the largest purse. The 2024 Daytona 500 is set for Sunday, February 14, at the Daytona International Speedway.

What is the Daytona 500 Purse Payouts 2024?

NASCAR has not released the purse for the Daytona 500 for the 2024 season. A purse of $23.6 million was announced for the 2024 race, making it the largest sum in American motorsport history.

The 2024 Daytona 500 purse release was an exception to the NASCAR rule put in place in 2016, which does not disclose driver payouts.

READ: Super Bowl 2024 Prize Money

How much money does the winner get for Daytona 500?

NASCAR again does not reveal its driver earnings, but we can make some estimates considering the past numbers. The 2024 Daytona purse was split among the 40 drivers.

According to previous figures from 2015, the race winner, Joey Logano, took home approximately $1.5million. This was 9% of the $18 million of total prize money that year.

If that proportion were applied to the $23.6 million prize pool in 2024, the winner would collect $2.07 million. Due to the current pandemic, a $1.5-2 million figure seems like an appropriate estimate for this year’s victor.

READ: NBA Prize Money 2024: How Much Money Do NBA Winners Get Paid?

Here is a list of all Daytona 500 winners in the 21st Century

2000Dale Jarrett (3)Robert Yates Racing (3)Ford
2001Michael WaltripDale Earnhardt, Inc.Chevrolet
2002Ward BurtonBill Davis RacingDodge
2003Michael Waltrip (2)Dale Earnhardt, Inc. (2)Chevrolet
2004Dale Earnhardt Jr.Dale Earnhardt, Inc. (3)Chevrolet
2005Jeff Gordon (3)Hendrick Motorsports (5)Chevrolet
2006Jimmie JohnsonHendrick Motorsports (6)Chevrolet
2007Kevin HarvickRichard Childress Racing (2)Chevrolet
2008Ryan NewmanPenske RacingDodge
2009Matt KensethRoush Fenway RacingFord
2010Jamie McMurrayEarnhardt Ganassi RacingChevrolet
2011Trevor BayneWood Brothers Racing (5)Ford
2012Matt Kenseth (2)Roush Fenway Racing (2)Ford
2013Jimmie Johnson (2)Hendrick Motorsports (7)Chevrolet
2014Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2)Hendrick Motorsports (8)Chevrolet
2015Joey LoganoTeam Penske (2)Ford
2016Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing (2)Toyota
2017Kurt BuschStewart-Haas RacingFord
2018Austin DillonRichard Childress Racing (3)Chevrolet
2019Denny Hamlin (2)Joe Gibbs Racing (3)Toyota
2020Denny Hamlin (3)Joe Gibbs Racing (4)Toyota