Which Teams Have Qualified For The Qatar 2024 World Cup And What Next?

The race to Qatar is heated up, with nations from around the world fighting for a spot in the 2024 World Cup. Although due to the recent happenings in the world, a few uncertainties have developed. South Korea is the most recent team to confirm their attendance in Qatar; here is the complete list of countries that will be joining them.

As the race to the finals unfolds, the identities of the teams competing in the competition become clearer. At this stage, things don’t get any easier and betting on sports becomes more interesting. For betting odds and opportunities, check out FanDuel.com.

We have all the information you need on which teams have qualified for the 2024 World Cup so far, and this page will be updated as the qualification stages progress.

2024 FIFA World Cup Qualified Teams

Source: the18.com

Qatar became the first country to qualify automatically after winning the bid to host the 2024 World Cup. They have never qualified for the World Cup finals in their history, so it’s their first appearance in the competition.

Germany was the second to follow after defeating North Macedonia in October 2024 and topping Group J.

After a 1-0 victory over Austria in October, Denmark qualified as Group F champions.

Brazil became the first South American nation to qualify after defeating Colombia by 1-0, maintaining their record as the only country to reach every World Cup final.

Belgium was confirmed as the Group E winner on the same day, while France was declared the Group D winner. In the winner-takes-all encounter, Croatia achieved Group H with a 1-0 victory over Russia. At the same time, Spain took first place in Group B. However, Serbia qualified for the tournament in Group A after defeating Portugal in the final qualifier.

England qualified for the World Cup on November 15th with a 10-0 win against San Marino in their last qualifying match, in which Harry Kane scored four goals. Switzerland qualified automatically ahead of Italy on the same day as the Group C champions.

With a 2-0 win over Norway on November 16th, the Netherlands secured the final playoff position in Qatar. Argentina qualified that evening after a tie with Brazil and a loss to Ecuador by Chile.

Iran and South Korea also qualified after topping the AFC Group A.

How Many Teams From Each Association Will Be Able To Compete In The World Cup In 2024?

  • The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has four or five teams participating in the World Cup finals.
  • CONCACAF (North, Central America, and the Caribbean) has three or four teams, while CAF (Africa) has five.
  • Four or five teams from CONMEBOL (South America) are competing.
  • With 13 seats available, UEFA (Europe) has the most qualified teams.
  • The OFC (Oceania) has 0 or 1 place.

After the qualification phase, inter-confederation playoffs are held to determine how many teams from each confederation will compete in the 2024 finals.

A total of 32 teams will attend the competition.

Source: uefa.com

Qualification Schedule For The 2024 World Cup


Qualification start date

Qualification end date

  • AFC

June 6th, 2019

June 2024

  • CAF

September 4th, 2019

March 2024


March 24th, 2024

June 2024


October 8th, 2020

June 2024

  • OFC

March 2024

June 2024

  • UEFA

March 24th, 2024

March 29th, 2024

When is the World Cup in 2024?

The 2024 World Cup will be held in Qatar from November 21st to December 18th, 2024.

Source: xscores.com

When Is The Draw For The World Cup Group Stage?

The group stage draw for the 2024 World Cup will take place on April 1st, 2024. It will occur in Doha, Qatar, with 32 teams – divided into eight four-person groups.

Play-off Draws

Scotland’s playoff semi-final versus Ukraine, which was supposed to take place on March 24th, has been rescheduled till June.

The match between Wales and Austria will take place on March 24th, as planned, in front of a sold-out crowd in Cardiff.

Italy and Portugal were placed in Path C, which means they will play each other in the final, and both will not be able to qualify for next year’s tournament in Qatar.

Ukraine – Russia; What Next in the Playoffs

Aside from the postponement of Scotland and Ukraine, Poland declined to play their upcoming World Cup playoff with Russia in March due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

According to FIFA, Poland will be awarded a bye and will face either Sweden or the Czech Republic on March 29th for a place in the finals in Qatar in November.

According to FIFA, the World Cup qualifiers will be played neutral with no spectators, no flags or national anthems, and Russia will play under the moniker ‘Football Union of Russia (RFU).’

The football associations of Sweden and the Czech Republic have also refused to play Russia in any new format, putting the World Cup and playoff schedules in jeopardy.,

Afterward, FIFA and UEFA later barred Russia from international competition.

While Ukraine cannot participate in their own country, the Polish FA has offered to host all of their home matches.

Source: sportsnet.ca

When are the Playoffs going to be held?

Seed A

Scotland vs. Ukraine – Thursday, March 24th (7:45 p.m. kick-off) – Rescheduled for June.

The match between Wales and Austria will be shown live on Sky Sports on Thursday, March 24th at 7.45 p.m.

Seed B

Thursday, March 24th: Russia vs. Poland (5.00 p.m. kick-off) – Postponed: Bye-bye, Poland.

Sweden vs. the Czech Republic – live on Sky Sports on Thursday, March 24th (7.45 p.m. kick-off).

Seed C

North Macedonia vs. Italy – live on Sky Sports on Thursday, March 24th (7.45 p.m. kick-off).

Portugal versus Turkey – live on Sky Sports on Thursday, March 24th (7.45 p.m. kick-off).

The finals of the playoffs will be shown live on Sky Sports on Tuesday, March 29th.

After the March window for international fixtures closes, the finals draw will be held on Sunday, April 3rd.

Key World Cup Dates

  • The group stage will take place from November 21st to December 2nd
  • The round of 16 will take place from December 3rd to December 6th
  • The quarter-finals will take place on December 9th and 10th
  • Semi-finals will be held on December 13th and 14th
  • The Final will take place on December 18th