List of ISL Team Captains 2024-21

A captain keeps its team unified on the pitch. Coming to ISL, every team’s captain will be crucial in their side’s progress throughout the season similar to previous seasons. Ahead of the league, here’s the list of ISL team captains for the 2024-21 season.

Many people feel that what is the role of captain on a football pitch when it’s the manager who takes all the decisions. But the reality is different from perceptions, the role of a captain be it any sport is always crucial as they are the one who leads their troop.

ISL Team Captains 2024-21

Meet the ISL club captains who will lead their teams in Hero Indian Super League (ISL) 2024-21 season.

1. ATK Mohun Bagan Team Captain

Captain– Sandesh Jhingan,  Pritam Kotal,  Arindam Bhattacharya, Roy Krishna,  Edu Garcia

It’s nothing short of a rare sight, that ATK Mohun Bagan will be stepping on the pitch with 5 captains. Yes, you heard that right, their head coach Antonio Lopez Habas does not favour naming a single captain in the team as he does not want to recognize anyone as the sole star of the team.

2. Bengaluru FC Team Captain

Captain– Sunil Chhetri

The most obvious choice for any franchise as the Indian captain will be leading his club Bengaluru FC. Chhetri will be captaining his side since their inception in 2017 and it will be his 4th season as the captain and has won the trophy once in 2018-2019.

3. Chennaiyin FC Team Captain

Captain– Fatkhullo Fatkhuloev (Not Confirmed)

Chennaiyin FC has not officially announced their captain for the upcoming season, however, as per reports their new signing Fatkhullo Fatkhuloev will lead the team from Tamil Nadu.

4. SC East Bengal Team Captain

Captain– Not Announced

SC East Bengal is the latest entrant to the ISL, thus they build a whole new team after an extremely active transfer window but the team is yet to take a decision for the spot of captain.

5. FC Goa Team Captain

Captain– Edu Bedia

The Spaniard Edu Garcia has been appointed the captain of FC Goa for their upcoming season as their previous captain Mandar Rao Desai left the side to join Mumbai City FC.

READ ALSO: How To Watch ISL Live Streaming

6. Hyderabad FC Team Captain

Captain– Not Announced

It’s their second season in the league and it’s shocking to note that the management is struggling in making their decisions on time. Yes, the ISL starts on the 20th and Hyderabad FC is yet to name their captain.

7. Jamshedpur FC Team Captain

Captain– Peter Hartley

Jamshedpur FC head coach Owen Coyle has announced that Peter Hartley will lead the side for this edition. The English made this move from Motherwell to Jamshedpur FC during this transfer window and has been given the captain’s command in his debut season.

8. Kerala Blasters Team Captain

Captain– Not Announced

It seems that Kerala Blasters are also on the path of Hyderabad FC as they are also yet to announce their captain. With the departure of experienced and successful leaders such ad Sandesh Jinghan and Ogbeche, the hunt for at par captain might take time.

9. Mumbai City FC Team Captain

Captain– Amrinder Singh (Not Confirmed)

Mumbai City FC is yet to officially announce their captain for the season, but as per the reports, Mumbai City might go with their existing captain Amrinder Singh to lead the side this year also.

10. NorthEast United FC Team Captain

Captain – Not Announced

NorthEast United will looking to find form as well as a new captain, as their hunt goes on for both.

11. Odisha FC Team Captain

Captain– Steven Taylor

Steven Taylor was announced as the captain for Odisha FC on 14th November. The player is known for his leadership qualities and his experience in the game.

The 2020-21 Indian Super League season is scheduled to run from 20 November 2024 to March 2024 and will be played behind-closed-doors in Goa due to the ongoing COVID-19.