FIFA World Cup Prize Money History (1982-2022)

FIFA World Cup is celebrated as the festivals in different parts of the world. It is considered as the most prestigious and popular event of the earth. In terms of viewership, it is second to Olympics games. Since it is a global event truckload of money is involved in it. With time FIFA has proliferated the prize money of the World Cup.

If we compare the prize money of the 1982 FIFA World Cup edition and the latest 2018 one then there is a gigantic increased in it. In the inaugural edition (In terms of prize money) of 1982, the prize pool was of $20 million.

It is manifold to $791 million in the latest edition, held in 2018 at Russia. The upcoming FIFA World Cup to be held in UAE in 2024 is going to be huge. The expected fund of the event is estimated to be $ 1 billion.

What is FIFA World Cup Prize Money?

FIFA auction Tv rights and Online coverage for a time period of four years. The major part of the FIFA fund comes from Media rights and Sponsorships. Ticket sales also contribute to the total revenue generated.  Here is the Fund distribution of the latest concluded FIFA event.

FIFA Revenue and spendings between 2015 to 18

From the latest four years cycle, FIFA generated $2.8 billion form TV and Media rights, $1.6 billion from sponsorships, $710 million from ticket sales and $600 million form licensing fee.

Between 2015-2018 FIFA generated a whopping revenue of $6.42 billion. Out of this, $5.357 billion was generated from the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

The large portion of the revenue is used to develop football across different regions. To make FIFA 2018 World Cup a successful event FIFA spent $ 400 million on administration $420 million was spent on TV and Media coverage and $390 million for other expenses. FIFA gave $120 million to the Russian Federation as an award for organising the event.

FIFA World Cup Prize Money and Fund Distribution

The prize money fund was allocated and decided 6 months prior to the FIFA World Cup. FIFA announced $791 million as the official Prize money pool for the World Cup. Here is the comparison of Prize money pool between 2014 and 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Stage2014 FIFA World Cup2018 FIFA World Cup
All Qualified Teams (32 Teams)$ 1 million each$ 1.5 million each
Group Stages (16 Eliminated Teams)$ 8 million each$ 8 million each
Round of 16 ( 8 Eliminated Teams)$ 9 million each$ 12 million each
Quarter Final (4 Eliminated Teams)$ 14 million each$ 16 million each
Fourth Place Team$ 18 million each$ 22 million each
Third Place Team$ 20 million each$ 24 million each
Runners-up$ 25 million each$ 28 million each
Winners$ 35 million each$ 38 million each
Player Insurance Fee$ 100 million each$ 134 million each
Player by player payments to parent club$ 170 million each$ 209 million each

FIFA World Cup Prize Money History

Since 1982 the FIFA World Cup prize money has manifolded every four years. In 1982’s edition the total prize money was $20 million. France the winners of 2018 FIFA World Cup got $ 40 million. This clearly shows how the price of money has escalated after every edition.

EditionTotal FundWinning TeamGuarantee Payment
1982 FIFA World Cup$ 20 million$ 2.2 million 
1986 FIFA World Cup$ 26 million$ 2.8 million 
1990 FIFA World Cup$ 54 million$ 3.5 million 
1994 FIFA World Cup$ 71 million$ 4 million 
1998 FIFA World Cup$ 103 million$ 6 million 
2002 FIFA World Cup$ 156.5 million$ 8 million$ 100,000
2006 FIFA World Cup$ 266 million$ 20 million$ 300,000
2010 FIFA World Cup$ 420 million$ 30 million$ 500,000
2014 FIFA World Cup$ 576 million$ 35 million$ 1 million
2018 FIFA World Cup$ 791 million$ 40 million$ 1.5 million
2024 FIFA World Cup$ 1 million$ 50 million$ 2 million