FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners List of All Time

Here is the full list of FIFA Ballon d’Or Award Winners of all time. FIFA Ballon d’Or is a Golden Football shaped Award which is given to the best Football player for the annual year on the basis of its overall performance (Goals+Assists). Ballon d’Or is the most Prestigious Individual award in the history of Football. FIFA Ballon d’Or winners are decided based on the votes from national football team coaches and captains as well as journalists from around the world.

Earlier, the Ballon d’Or was known as the European Footballer of the Year award since 1956. It was awarded by the French publication ”France Football”. Moreover, The FIFA World Player of the Year award which was presented by FIFA Officials since 1991 was considered in terms of the player’s international performance only. So let’s see the complete FIFA Ballon d’Or winners list of all-time.

FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners

The European Footballer of the year award was named as Ballon d’Or award in 1991. Thereupon, these were the 2 Prestigious individual Football Awards were merged up since 2010 officially by FIFA. The Reason of merging these two awards is that since 2005, the winners of the Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year were one and the same. Henceforth, the Ballon d’ Award officially merged up with FIFA during the FIFA World Cup held in South Africa 2010 and now it’s known as the FIFA Ballon D’Or Award to the world. Let’s take a look at the all-time list of FIFA Ballon d’Or winners.

FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners List

2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Argentina Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Argentina Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo  Portugal Real Madrid
2012  Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi  Argentina FC Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi  Argentina FC Barcelona
2009 Lionel Messi  Argentina FC Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo  Portugal Manchester United
2007 Kaká   Brazil AC Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro  Italy Real Madrid/Juventus
2005 Ronaldinho  Brazil Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko  Ukraine AC Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd  Czech Republic Juventus
2002 Ronaldo  Brazil Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen  England Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo  Portugal Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo  Brazil Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane  France Juventus
1997 Ronaldo  Brazil Inter Milan
1996 Matthias Sammer  Germany Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah  Liberia AC Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov  Bulgaria Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio  Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten  Netherlands AC Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin  France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus   Germany Inter Milan
1989 Marco van Basten  Netherlands AC Milan
1988 Marco van Basten  Netherlands AC Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit  Netherlands  AC Milan
1986 Igor Belanov  Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1985 Michel Platini  France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini  France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini  France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi   Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge  Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge  Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan  England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen  Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer  Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin  Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1974 Johan Cruyff  Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff  Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer  Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff   Netherlands Barcelona
1970 Gerd Müller  Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera  Italy Milan
1968 George Best  Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert  Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio  Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law  Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin  Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust  Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori  Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez  Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano  Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano  Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool

Who has Won Most FIFA Ballon d’Or Awards?

Argentinian International Lionel Messi and Portugues International Cristiano Ronaldo have won the most FIFA Ballon d’Or’s awards than any other Player in the World. Messi has six FIFA Ballon d’Or’s award so far back to back in 2009,2010, 2011, and 2012. He also won the last two FIFA Ballon d’Or for the Year 2015 and 2016.

After Messi, the EURO 2016 winner and Portuguese international, Cristiano Ronaldo has won the most FIFA Ballon d’Or’s (3 awards). Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the year 2013 2014 and 2008. Let’s take a look at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners List Since 1956.

How is FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners decided?

  1. The FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners is chosen by international Media Officials along with the National team captains as well as Coaches.
  2. This is a Lengthy voting process based on provisional voting, each voter is allowed to give three votes, each vote worth five points, three points and one point, and the three finalists are ordered based on overall points earned.
  3. While each voter is provided with a shortlist from which they can select the three players they deem to have performed the best in the previous calendar year.