Ranji Trophy 2024 Schedule, Time Table, Dates, Groups & Venues

The season of Indian domestic cricket returns after one year break as the BCCI has announced Ranji Trophy 2024 schedule for the upcoming season. India’s biggest and most renowned domestic cricket tournament, the Ranji Trophy, is back for a brand new season and here’re all the details you need to know about it.

Ranji Trophy 2024 Schedule

The upcoming 2024 season will be the 87th of the Ranji Trophy. The 2024 Ranji Trophy begins on January 13 and will be played till 20 March 2024. The Ranji Trophy 2024 schedule and fixtures for the season are yet to be released officially.

Teams and Format

The 2024 Ranji Trophy season will undergo some changes in the format. The 38 participating teams will now be divided into six categories instead of four. This season will feature five Elite groups of six teams each and one Plate group consisting of eight teams. Following are the teams that will contest in the 2024 Ranji season.

Elite Group A

  • Assam
  • Gujarat
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Punjab
  • Services

Elite Group B

  • Bengal
  • Haryana
  • Kerala
  • Rajasthan
  • Tripura
  • Vidarbha

Elite Group C

  • Delhi
  • Hyderabad
  • Karnataka
  • Maharashtra
  • Mumbai
  • Uttarakhand

Elite Group D

  • Goa
  • Jammu & Kashmir
  • Jharkhand
  • Railways
  • Saurashtra
  • Tamil Nadu

Elite Group E

  • Andhra
  • Baroda
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Odisha
  • Puducherry
  • Uttar Pradesh

Plate Group

  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Bihar
  • Chandigarh
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Sikkim

Elite group toppers will secure direct qualification into the quarter-finals. The second-placed teams from each of the five Elite Groups and the winner of the Plate group will contest in three pre-quarter-finals for a spot in the quarterfinals.

Ranji Trophy 2024 Venues

BCCI has announced the venues for the upcoming Ranji Trophy season. Keeping in mind the pandemic situation, the tournament will have only selective venues. Following are the venues for the 2024 Ranji Trophy. The five elite groups and one plate group will have just one venue where all the matches will be held for their group.

Mumbai (Elite A), Bengaluru (Elite B), Kolkata (Elite C), Ahmedabad (Elite D), Trivandrum (Elite E), and Chennai (Plate).

Kolkata will host all the knockout matches and the final of the Ranji Trophy 2024 season.

Ranji Trophy 2024 Players

According to the new rules, all the participating teams can have a maximum of 30 members, including the support staff and the physicians. There should be at least 20 players in a squad.

Ranji Trophy Live Streaming and TV Channels

Star Sports network holds the official broadcasting rights of the tournament, and the matches can be viewed on various channels of the network. Disney+ Hotstar and JioTV provide are Ranji Trophy 2024 live streaming platform.